Big Yellow Tutu

Everybody was in LA… then April 30, 2010

Ooohhh, look! A low res image of Eddie Argos! I love that this blog hasn’t changed at all in six years.

While I was stuck in LA I finally got the chance to see Eddie’s new band, Everybody Was In The French Resistance…Now. They were ace, of course they were. Don’t expect a departure from Eddie’s usual singing style, it’s exactly the same as it was in Art Brut, but now he has a girl to help in along in the form of the Blood Arm’s Dyan Vardes.

I bought the album a few months ago, and I although I loved it, I have to confess that I didn’t realise it was a concept thing until this gig. It’s a collection of responses to pop songs – there’s Coal Digger, a repsonse to Kayne about what it’s like to work in a chip shop when you’re trying to impress your girlfriend’s parents; G.I.R.L.F.R.E.N to Avril to ask her to stop hitting on him as he does have a girlfriend; and Billie’s Genes, what it’s like to tell Michael Jackson that you are in fact his son.

They’re so fucking brilliant.

It was a great evening,  I was feeling sooo homesick and I nearly didn’t manage to drag myself out of my afternoon nap time to get there but I’m so glad I did. The club was so weird, a proper Brit Pop night – in LA! People danced to Dodgy and Ocean Colour Scene!

Check out G.I.R.L.F.R.E.N…

xx

 

Leave a Reply

