Big Yellow Tutu

Kill some, love others August 24, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — helenium @ 2:06 pm
Tags: , ,

My parents are animal lovers; they have a dog, a cat, some bees, some chickens and some pigs. They look after them all extremely well, they just also like to kill a few of them. The pigs were the unlucky ones, though my mother isn’t actually that keen on the cat, so maybe he’s next…

This spring some of the people in their village started this pig cooperative. They pooled their money and time to buy and care for three very cute piglets. I visited them a few times over the summer, they were super super fun. We ran about the pen with them, scratched their bellies and occasionally rubbed sun cream on them. The week before last they were killed. Not because my mum was drunk and wielding the bread knife again, but because it was time to eat them. Gobble gobble gobble. A nice man with stun gun thing and a big knife came to the house and did the deeds.

My folks got half a pig out of it, all cut up nicely ready for the freezer. I got my first taste this weekend. It was devine. We marinated it coffee, black treacle, fennel seeds, chilli flakes, mustard and red wine vinegar; then whacked it on the BBQ 24 hours later. It was soooo soooo scrumptious.

IMG_0499

The animal they’re not going to kill any time soon is their new puppy, Pip. Within minutes of meeting him I became one of those women that lets dogs lick their face. Ewww. I do love him though.

IMG_0494

IMG_0501

xx
p.s. I’m going to try and get a ‘before’ picture of the pigs from my dad for this post.

 

Leave a Reply

