Big Yellow Tutu

June 19, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — helenium @ 11:55 am

I avoid one form of nerdiness and run head long into another. I have no interest in the football whatsoever; I don’t see how it’s anymore exciting than the matches that take up the other 10 months of the year. The Swish’s insistence on watching every single game has meant that I’ve been left with quite a bit of spare time at the weekends. I could have used this time for something productive, like reading some books, or making some chutneys, but alas no, its been taken over by Rollercoaster Tycoon 3.

RT3 is a bit like Theme Park, in that it’s a low budget PC game that lets you play about with rollercoasters, but its seriously addictive. I got quickly bored with the career scenarios, where you have to control everything from the price of pretzels, to the levels of training of staff. Instead, the game offers a ‘sandbox’ mode, with unlimited money and therefore unlimited design scope.

I’ve made some seriously monstrous parks, with the best jungles, the scariest haunted castles and definitely the best quaint English country gardens ever. Weirdly, even with unlimited money for rides and designs all the visitors to my park hate it, but that doesn’t stop me. I’ve probably been playing this game for more hours than Swish has been watching the football. Oops.

Needless to say, the weekend was uneventful, the highlight being leaving the flat on Sunday to go and buy cake from the shops across the road. The cake turned out to be mouldy, so not a successful trip really.

I made a pie from scratch, so it wasn’t an entirely wasted weekend. It was from a Hugh F-W book and required handmade pastry. I even decorated the lids of the pies with pastry hearts. Am domestic goddess.

This week doesn’t look to be too busy, was going to see Jeremy Warmsley tonight, but lack of money is keeping me in front of RT3. I’ve promised to pay attention to the football tomorrow night, so if you see me in a pub looking bored or confused, come and say hello and save me from the tedium.

Friday I’m off to Wireless in Hyde Park, which I’m hoping will be immense. It seems there’s lots of people going. I plan to dance an awful lot. This may be gin fuelled. Yum.

 

Leave a Reply

