Big Yellow Tutu

May 15, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — helenium @ 6:00 pm

After the stresses and strains of wandering round London looking somewhat maimed, I decided a quiet weekend was in order.

Probably a little too quiet, I went to see X Men 3 on Friday night and despite it being in the big screen at the Empire in Leicester Square, the volume was so low you had to concentrate to understand what the cast were saying. Had not expected to engage my brain during this film and so was rather taken aback.

The film itself is quite good, not as engaging as the second in the trilogy, but still fantastic in terms of effects and fun. You find yourself questioning the plot in terms of what could happen with all the available superhero powers, that maybe people who died need not have if so and so had just stepped up to the mark instead.

Some FA Cup nonsense took over most of Saturday, so I plonked myself down in front of the computer and played too many hours of Roller Coaster Tycoon 3. It’s impossibly difficult. I always dreamt of owning a theme park, but I think that it proved, like karaoke, that my childhood job ambitions weren’t always well suited to me.

Sunday brought with it yet another press screening for a new film (insert remarks about being an industry whore here). This time it was Hoodwinked, an animated, modern take on the Little Red Riding Hood tale. The parallels to Shrek are obvious, you’d be forgiven for thinking the same company were behind it, but it’s worth seeing. It contains the usual glut of jokes for the parents and has a huge amount of daft songs, the soundtrack is bound to sell well. I got given a colouring in book, some chocolate and a red riding hood rain mac for my troubles that cheered me up no end.

 

Leave a Reply

