Big Yellow Tutu

November 21, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — helenium @ 6:13 pm

And predictably, number three…

mcfly

Now, its not often that I’m underwhelmed by pop. Just as I was starting to pour my whole life into the pursuit of arse wiggling round my kitchen to Tatu albums, it all goes a bit pear shaped.

I’ve already mentioned the horrid bad video/bad double a side choice of McFly last week, and now it seems it all gets a little worse.

Yesterday was of course, the T4 Pollwinners Party in association with Smash Hits. And no, I’m not going to comment on the change on the name to include ‘in assocation with…’, I don’t really care about that kind of thing.

I started off very excited by it all, being in the best of moods on the tube on the way there. But then it all went downhill.

We got there far too early, not only having to endure two hours of warm up show, but also an hour before the warm up even started. We pegged it over to the bar to drink our smuggled in gin and some pistachios. Yum.

We were a bit surprised to find McFly do the warm up show, I wondered if maybe they were just being nice. Unfortunately it was a pre-record set up, so we had to cope with the worst version of Ultraviolet you’ve ever heard. No guitars, just some really loud bass and drums. Oh god. All About You was a little better, with some actual live instrumentation but it was still a bit cringe worthy. The only thing that kept me sane was knowing that they’re capable of better.

When the actual show started it soon became apparent that they only had 10 sets of celebrities to push around the set for three hours. The performers all won awards, and the presenters of the awards couldn’t perform to save their lives.

Just in case we weren’t already pissed off with seeing the same old faces every 10 minutes, they insisted on playing out the same Freefaller and Friday Hill comp ads through every commercial break. I swear if I hear Baby, Goodbye again I’ll go mad. I used to quite like that song.

The audience was also quite surprising, not being made up of 8 yr old kids, as expected; but instead, loads of reasonably hard 15/16 yr olds who were into more hip hop and all that jazz I know nothing of.

Now, I don’t want to sound off about it all too much, I did enjoy the whole thing. It just wasn’t as good as McFly at Wembley and if I’m honest I got a bit MTV proud too often, comparing it to the EMAs.

If I look at it all, there was no way it was ever going to be better than McFly, it was always going to be a low budget lip synch affair. Maybe when I was 9 and watching the Pollwiners party with awe I didn’t really think about that.

There is still hope though, I’m off to the Son Of Dork album launch this week, and to see Kelly Clarkson next week. So maybe I’ll have my belief in all things pop restored.

And I also promise I’ll stop talking about my faltering belief in pop soon.
xxx

 

Leave a Reply

