Big Yellow Tutu

October 12, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — helenium @ 2:49 pm

NME

I have reached a worrying point where I am reading the NME to learn about new bands. This is not good. Ok, so NME has gone through a bit of a makeover, and now has a little bit more in the way of music news, but that is not the point. Its still a lame situation to be in.

What happened? I used to be reasonably clued up. I have not listened to anything new in the last two months. That’s if you don’t include pop.

My last fortnight of ipod/stereo time has mainly included…

1. The new Rachel Stevens album
2. Kelly Osbourne
3. Test-icicles
4. Lovebites
5. Jay Z – The Black Album
6. Kelis – Tasty
7. Joni Mitchell – Blue
8. Coco Rosie
9. McFly
10. Emiliana Torrini

The new Ricky Martin album landed on my desk about 2 hours ago and I actually squealed with delight. Watching the Will Young video yesterday made me grin from ear to ear. You don’t even want to know what I did when I saw the new Girls Aloud vid.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I love my pop. Listening to new boyband albums is one of my favourite pastimes, but there used to be a healthy mix of new pop and new indie listening going on.

I blame all this on a few reasons.

1. I like albums, not singles. I don’t want to be glued to my ipod buttons on my work commute every day. I’d rather just press play and sit there. New pop bands have an album out within about 3 months, not 3 years. And yes, I know that playlists exist, they’re just tedious to sit and prepare.
2. Having a job and no time to trawl the internet for fun stuff
3. Not having iTunes at work
4. Artrocker no longer being delivered to our work reception. I ain’t walking.

Maybe I’ll leave the world of indie rock forever. There is enough decent pop for me to live on for the rest of my life. Oh, I hope not. I wish something would kick start me back into my long lost home of scummy bands.

Lets just hope this Ricky Martin album is really terrible then or I’ll be filling out the form for the Smash Hits subscription.

 

Leave a Reply

