Big Yellow Tutu

October 7, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — helenium @ 2:42 pm

testies

After last week being almost completely McFly filled this week has been sponsored by Test-Icicles.

I went to go see them on Monday at the Garage. It was a bit bizarre, not many people there and far too many moshing kids trying to stage dive into a crowd of four. I wasn’t in the best of moods after a minor head hitting floor too hard incident about 5 minutes before we had to leave, and if I’m honest it was a little too noisy for my liking.

They were tight, and have improved massively since the days of seeing them with a 4 song set. Sam is still the sexiest little minx going, I bet he baths in pure hair conditioner. The crowd just weren’t into it, people clapped a little but noone seemed to know the songs. I think maybe I keep expecting them to be bigger than they are, the Swish and I have liked them for ages and are slightly obsessed with them. I guess a lot of people don’t spazz (core) over them as much as we do.

The daft comedian they roped into do an interval and the massive MySpace sponsorship didn’t help with atmosphere issues either. That and the daft amounts of hip-hop being DJ-ed.

They came in to film Gonzo Introduces on Thursday morning, so rather than tackle the mound of work on my desk I wandered over to watch them film it. It was very very funny. They started the interview without Zane Lowe, just being asked questions from behind the camera. Dev and Rory were ace, answering the questions well, laughing lots and looking relaxed. The Sex Minx however was a completely different story. He sat there with his hood up and fringe over his eyes, refusing to show his face and only speaking his name during the ‘Hi! We’re Test-Icicles’ bit. Even when they talked about his remixes he still sat there in silence with his head down.

Needless to say that when Zane came in for the rest of the interview Sam was sat outside on a chair away from the studio. I do wish he’d have decided to sit on my lap instead of the chair though.

 

Leave a Reply

