Big Yellow Tutu

April 25, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — helenium @ 6:57 pm

Hurrah. Via the lovely people at the guardian now all my friends have Glastonbury tickets. Bring on the excitement. Bring on the Tesco value whiskey. Bring on the Kylie. I could not be any happier.

This year will be my fifth Glastonbury – how old and hardcore am I? Last years was pretty shit, it hailed, the line up sucked (it being exactly as the year before but just everyone bumped up a slot) and I was totally not in the mood for it. But this year it will be different. 2005 will be the best year ever. I am totally excited.

Aside from the obvious Kylie, Art Brut and BYOP fun I am very much looking forward to:

Bright Eyes – he played at Glasto a couple of years back when I had no idea who he was. One of my wiser friends convinced me to go and see him and I fell in love straight away. Sexy and heart wrenching. Perfect.

M.I.A – she is going to be fucking brilliant. I am gonna drink myself silly for her set and dance like a crazed buffalo.

The Rakes – queue shouting Strasbourg as loud as I can all weekend. It’s the new slogan of choice you know.

Tyler James – pop boy extraordinaire with the biggest hair ever.

The Jaipur Kawa Brass Band – only to throw stuff at them for not being my marching band. We will play one year.

Once a hip-hop dance tip I plan to shake dat ting to:
DJ Format, Skinnyman, Krafty Kutz, Squarepusher, Four Tet and Husky Rescue. Though I shall avoid Cassetteboy – I am old enough to not find word mashups making sentences about cocks and balls funny anymore.

Lady Sovereign is a must on my list. Gonna wear these earrings in tribute:

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

I am also going to wear my Kylie pants for Kylie. I better not lose them though, I used to own two pairs and somehow lost one pair. Christ knows how.

There is now only 8 or 9 weeks to go. By then I hope to have a flat, a job, some money and longer hair.

 

Leave a Reply

